Skip to main content


Subpage Hero

Brendan Lee

Brendan Lee

Baylor College of Medicine
Dr. Brendan Lee is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Molecular and Human Genetics at Baylor College of Medicine (BCM). Dr. Lee co-directs the Lawrence Family Bone Disease Program of Texas, and the BCM Center for Skeletal Medicine and Biology. He is Founder and Director of the Skeletal Dysplasia Clinic at Texas Children's Hospital. As a pediatrician and geneticist, Dr. Lee studies structural birth defects and inborn errors of metabolism. He has published over 320 peer-reviewed papers and over 85 invited reviews, chapters, and books. His work has garnered over $87M in continuous NIH funding over his 25 years as an independent investigator. He currently leads the NIH BCM Undiagnosed Diseases Network Clinical Site, NIH BCM RE-JOIN Consortium, NIH Brittle Bone Disorders Consortium, and the NIH All of US Evenings with Genetics Scholars Program. He holds multiple patents in drug discovery and gene therapy and several licensed technologies are in industry-sponsored clinical trials (for osteoarthritis, Osteogenesis Imperfecta, and Maple Syrup Urine Disease). Dr. Lee has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Association of American Physicians, the American Society for Clinical Investigation, and the Society of Pediatric Research. He has been awarded the ASHG Scientific Achievement Award, the ASBMR William F. Neuman Award for outstanding contributions to science, teaching, research, and administration, the SPR E. Meade Johnson Award for Pediatrics Research, and the American Philosophical Society's Judson Darland Prize for Patient-Oriented Clinical Investigation. He has served on multiple nonprofit boards and advisory panels including the Advisory Committee to the Director (ACD) of the NIH. Dr. Lee was previously an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute prior to becoming Chairman of the Department of Molecular and Human Genetics at Baylor College of Medicine in 2014.