Skip to main content


Subpage Hero

Sarah Elsea

Sarah Elsea

Professor, Baylor College of Medicine
Dr. Sarah H. Elsea is a Professor of Molecular and Human Genetics at Baylor College of Medicine and Director of Clinical Genomics at the BCM-Human Genome Sequencing Center. Dr. Elsea received a B.S. in chemistry with minor in biology from Missouri State University and a Ph.D. in biochemistry from Vanderbilt University. She completed a postdoctoral fellowship in molecular and human genetics and an ABMGG clinical biochemical genetics fellowship at the Baylor College of Medicine. She held faculty appointments at Michigan State University and the Medical College of Virginia at Virginia Commonwealth University prior to returning to BCM in 2013. Dr. Elsea works collaboratively with support groups to develop relevant, targeted research to inform and improve upon quality of life for individuals affected by genetic conditions, with focus on the discovery, pathomechanisms, diagnosis, and treatment of rare and complex disease, particularly neurodevelopmental and metabolic disorders that involve sleep disturbance, behavioral phenotypes, obesity, and cancer. Development of functional clinical metabolomic and transcriptomic approaches to variant interpretation have led to the identification of multiple disease associated biomarkers, with improved diagnosis and management of inborn errors of metabolism that have contributed to better understanding and knowledge of the phenotypic spectrum of many metabolic disorders. Her research has been funded >25 years by the NIH, PRISMS, and the SMS Research Foundation, as well as industry and other non-profit agencies to support her integrated approach to research, education, outreach, and mentoring. She has trained more than 40 graduate students in human genetics and genetic counseling. Dr. Elsea is a member of several professional societies, has authored more than 120 scientific and lay articles, and is a member of the Board of the ABMGG and the Board of the ACMG Foundation, and she serves as Chair of the PRISMS Professional Advisory Board.